top of page

Bah-Humbug

Here we are smack dab in the middle of another holiday season. This time of year always feel a little lighter and brighter to me.  As I go through my day, I notice more people with a smile on their face and a skip in their step.  People are going out of their way to help one another -jazzed with holiday cheer.


In noticing how, people are feeling I can't avoid thinking that this is what awareness feels like.  To me the holiday season, the feeling of the holiday season, a full blown awareness makeover.  I realized that when I ” venture down the rabbit hole of possibility” -I’m actually asking people to feel like they do during the holiday season; Lighter, brighter, and more optimistic.  With that being said I think I’m on to something here. Venture with me if you will….?


I have a friend that absolutely loves the holidays. Several actually, and the majority of them are over the top about the holiday season.  One friend spends all November planning a party that benefits toys for tots.  Another spends the end of November and most of December decorating and tweaking lights and decorations around her house. Other friends spend absurd amounts of money on gifts and then pays for the holiday cheer until June. Then there is the friend that starts getting anxiety attacks the first day of November until the end of January. She gets riddled with thoughts of dealing with family for two months in a row.


I also have another friend. I know, who knew I had so many friends? Anyhow, this friend typically goes with the flow. She doesn’t really go overboard on much of anything -holidays included. From the outside looking in my other friends always tell me, “we really need to do something special for her”, “We need to help her with cheer up for the holidays”.


I thought about this for a while and then I realized that the friend who is perceived as lacking in holiday cheer is really 24-7 holiday cheer.  The friend that is being perceived as bah humbug is the most authentic version of holiday cheer and continuous awareness. I feel honored to have had the pleasure of knowing for so long.  The dilemma here is that the rest of the crew can’t see it.  They can only see and experience what their version of holiday cheer allows them to be aware of.  I hate to say it but, knowing them so intimately affords me the privilege of seeing that they can’t get past their own bah humbug that kicks in the moment the holidays are over. No wonder they OD on good cheer eggnog for two months.


The point of exposing my friends is this. Holiday cheer, the feeling of holiday cheer, can and should be a year round thing. You don’t need a season as an excuse to be joyful and aware of your connection to others.  You just need to choose.


So, put those antlers on your car, decorate that tree and light up the neighborhood. Be safe and enjoy the connections that the season brings.  Be aware, be whole, and enjoy the "tis the season" today and every day.


-Cocoa


Read Spirituality: Read The Signs In Everyday Affairs to create awareness everyday.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page